Designated Market Areas

Designated Market Areas (DMAs) delineate the geographic boundaries of 210 distinctive regions to assess TV penetration of audience counts within the U.S. for a viewership year. The DMA code is created by Nielsen’s assignment of a 3-digit number for identification and processing purposes.


  • DMA Boundaries are defined by current county boundaries; when viewership within a county is split, or if a DMA boundary splits a county, zip code boundaries are used instead
  • Boundaries are updated annually as DMA county assignments change to reflect the most current television year


The Designaated Market Areas (DMAs) dataset includes:

  • DMA boundary data
  • DMA point (inventory) data
  • DMA name and 3-digit code
  • Total area of each DMA (in square miles)
  • 210 distinctive DMAs within U.S. including Hawaii and Alaska


United States
Release schedule
Unit of sale

Contact a product expert today.

Contact Us

Want to see additional products?

Find the data you need to gain insight, drive growth and minimize risk.

Return to Home

For more information, visit