Census Boundary Bundle (Canada)

Census Boundary Bundle (Canada)  represents complete hierarchies of political and census boundaries for Canada.


The standard version is updated every 5 years following the new Canadian census. The enhanced version is updated quarterly and includes selected large water features and more detailed shorelines.


  • Fast track analysis and visual representation within mapping applications
  • Conduct land use and demographic studies as well as social, economic, and market research
  • Link census data to geographic areas with unique identifiers
  • Create new geographic areas for analysis
  • Enrich with proprietary data to create thematic maps


  • Aligns with road network data to provide additional geographic context for mapping applications
  • Boundaries roll up from the Dissemination Areas to ensure that all levels overlay correctly and provide a more accurate visual analysis


Census Boundary Bundle (Canada) includes the following levels:

  • Provinces/Territories: all 10 provinces and 3 territories
  • Census Divisions: counties, regional districts, regional municipalities, and united counties
  • Census Metropolitan Areas/Census Agglomerations (CMA/CA): urban areas with populations over 100,000
  • Census Subdivisions: towns, cities, villages, townships, and Indian Reserves
  • Census Tracts: small communities (average population 4,000)
  • Dissemination Areas (DA): The smallest boundary for which Canadian census data is provided, with populations from 400-700 persons
  • Aggregate Dissemination Area (ADA): a new boundary feature created to offer a contiguous, nationwide boundary layer, based on census tracts, census subdivisions, or dissemination areas


Release schedule
Standard - Every 5 years
Enhanced - Quarterly
Unit of sale
Country, Province

Contact a product expert today.

Contact Us

Want to see additional products?

Find the data you need to gain insight, drive growth and minimize risk.

Return to Home

For more information, visit http://dataguide.precisely.com/